About DHAA: Elevating Dental Hygiene Standards in Alberta

The Dental Hygienists Association of Alberta (DHAA) stands as a united force committed to advancing the quality of dental hygiene care across the province. Our mission is centered on uniting, supporting, empowering, and advocating for Alberta’s dental hygienists.

Our Vision: Integrating Oral Health into Alberta’s Healthcare Framework

DHAA is dedicated to ensuring oral healthcare is recognized as an indispensable part of Alberta’s healthcare delivery system. Our primary goal is to elevate the status of dental hygienists as crucial primary care professionals.

Comprehensive Support and Advocacy

As a local association, we relentlessly support our members in research, education, practice, community service, and policy initiatives. We strive to elevate the role of dental hygienists by offering robust support across all aspects of their professional journey.

Advocacy and Representation

DHAA proudly represents Alberta’s Dental Hygienists, fostering awareness, dialogue, and support within the community. We actively engage with governments to articulate our position, advocate for necessary changes, and ensure dental hygiene’s pivotal role is acknowledged and integrated into healthcare policies.

Join DHAA in our commitment to championing dental hygienists’ pivotal role in Alberta’s healthcare landscape. Together, we can advocate, empower, and elevate oral healthcare standards across the province.

How Board Members are Appointed

The Dental Hygienists Association of Alberta (DHAA) implemented a rigorous process to appoint board members, aiming to provide representation from every region of Alberta. The appointments were made by the Executive Directors in 2021 and subsequently by the Board of Directors in 2022, with careful consideration given to experience and knowledge within the dental hygiene field.
To ensure comprehensive representation, the DHAA divided Alberta into five zones, as depicted on the provided map. Each zone represents a distinct region within the province. The DHAA recognized the importance of including representatives from each of these zones on the Board of Directors to address the specific needs and concerns of dental hygienists in those areas.
During the appointment process in 2021, the Executive Directors considered the experience and knowledge of potential candidates within the dental hygiene field. They also placed a strong emphasis on selecting individuals who hailed from different zones across Alberta. This approach aimed to ensure that every region had a representative on the Board, ensuring their perspectives and challenges were adequately represented.
Following the initial appointments, the Board members who were already serving in 2021 participated in the subsequent appointment process in 2022 and five more “Members at Large” seats were added to the Board. They collectively reviewed the current composition of the Board, taking into account the representation from each zone. If any imbalances were identified, efforts were made to address them by appointing individuals from underrepresented zones or adjusting the Board’s composition accordingly.
By adhering to this process, the DHAA aimed to ensure that the Board of Directors reflected the diverse regions of Alberta. The inclusion of representatives from each of the five zones ensured that the unique needs, concerns, and perspectives of dental hygienists across the province were considered and represented in the decision-making processes of the association.
In summary, the DHAA appointed Board members based on experience and knowledge within the dental hygiene field, and they were chosen from across Alberta according to the five zones to guarantee representation for every unique region. This approach strengthened the Board’s ability to effectively advocate for dental hygienists throughout the province and address the specific challenges faced by each zone.

*We acknowledge that what we call Alberta is the traditional and ancestral territory of many peoples, presently subject to Treaties 6, 7, and 8. Namely: the Blackfoot Confederacy – Kainai, Piikani, and Siksika – the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, Stoney Nakoda, and the Tsuut’ina Nation and the Métis People of Alberta. This includes the Métis Settlements and the Six Regions of the Métis Nation of Alberta within the historical Northwest Metis Homeland. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We make this acknowledgement as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.